Anouncement‎ > ‎

Region 57 Gu12 Extra - 2015 McMillan Cup Tournament Champions

posted Sep 10, 2015, 10:27 AM by Sia Fallahi

The Corona del Mar Region 57 Girls under 12 AYSO Extra team captured the Girls under 12 Flight 1 in the 19th McMillan Annual Tournament Championship over the Labor Day weekend.  The McMillan Tournament is AYSO Invitational, open to AYSO teams from any Section of AYSO and is held at Jack Hammett Sports Complex (aka The Farm), Costa Mesa High School, Davis Elementary and Balearic in Costa Mesa.  


After going 3-0 in pool play with 4 goals for and 1 against, CdM was pitted against a West Garden Grove team it had prevailed over 1-0 earlier in the weekend.  In the Finals, CdM was initially down 1-0, rebuilt itself to a 2-1 lead, and, in the waning seconds of regulation, found itself deadlocked with West Garden Grove when it surged with high pressure, found a loose ball in the penalty area and put a looping high ball in the net.  CdM again found itself down quickly 1-0 in the first of two 5 minute over times however came back resoundingly in the second overtime to produce a hard fought equalizer, ending at 1-1. After going to kicks at the mark, the teams again were tied at 4-4 after the initial 5 attempts, however CdM made the next two to West Garden Grove’s one and were crowned Champions.  


The team is comprised of local residents Bianca Bays, Logan Bray, Liz Broten, Fallon Crenshaw, Hannah Dastgheib, Tess Emmel, Isabel Gomez, Kate Kittleson, Madeleine Luer, Lexi Rabold, Rylen Schmid, Megan Shean, Emily Valentine, and Ann Wood and is coached by Mark Valentine, John Schmid and Andrew Wood.


At Gu11, this core group of young ladies were the Gu11 Finalists at the McMillan Tournament last year; won the AYSO Section 11 Extra South Division in Fall; and, in Spring, placed  2nd playing up in Gu12 Flight 1, Group, with a record of 7 wins, 1 loss and 1 tie, with 26 goals “for” (the most goals out of 17 teams in all of Flight 1);  4 goals “against” (tied for 2nd least goals allowed out of the 17 teams); and a goal differential at 22 (the best out of all the 17 teams).